CLO E-mail Alerts

The National High School Musical Theater Awards

The National High School Musical Theater Awards is a national celebration of outstanding student achievement in high school musical theater featuring the “Best Actress” and “Best Actor” winners from regional awards programs including the Gene Kelly Awards.  This year, 62 student performers representing 31 professional theater organizations from across the country traveled to New York City to participate in the fifth annual National High School Musical Theater Awards.  During that time, the program provided the opportunity for these talented student actors and actresses to spend a week in the life of a theater professional - participating in rehearsals, master classes and other activities with industry experts.

The program culminated on Monday, July 1, 2013, when the finalists took the stage at the Minskoff Theatre on Broadway to participate in the 5th Annual Jimmy™ Awards, named in honor of legendary Broadway theater owner and producer James M. Nederlander. The ceremony was hosted by the Tony®-nominated stars of the Broadway musical Rogers + Hammerstein's Cinderella - Laura Osnes and Santino Fontana.  In addition to the presentation of the national awards for "Best Performance by an Actor" and "Best Performance by an Actress," the ceremony showcased all participating students through medleys and other performances perfected during their week at the NHS Musical Theater Awards™. 

Please visit for more information.